Emergency declared for parts of Kentucky, the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced December 11. FEMA stated that the president has declared that an emergency exists in Breckenridge, Bullitt, Caldwell, Fulton, Graves, Grayson, Hickman, Hopkins, Lyon, Meade, Muhlenberg, Ohio, Shelby, Spencer and Warren counties due to severe storms, straight-line winds, flooding, and tornadoes beginning December 10 and continuing. The emergency declaration is considered a federally declared disaster allowing taxpayers residing in the affected areas to elect under tax code Section 165(i) to claim casualty losses on their 2020 or 2021 tax returns. [FEMA HQ-21-256 (Dec. 11, 2021)]
View …
To read the full article log in. To learn more about a subscription click here.